RSS Feed

Growing your own…..

Even though I live in a relatively small apartment in Sydney, I still want to be able to produce my own food. I thankfully have a northern aspect for my balcony and this Spring I have decided to become more self sufficient and grow my own vegetables and herbs in the limited space available. I also want to recycle if possible, so given these requirements I visited my local green grocer and asked if they had some spare polystyrene  cartons that I could use…..I walked away with 5, which was perfect!

I then bought some potting mix, compost and mulch and some plants and I was ready to start my own vegetable garden.

I tend to buy green vegetables, herbs and salad leaves every week and wanted to grow plants that would fit into my allotted space, grow quickly and supplement my grocery shopping.

I purchased seedlings of the following: heirloom tomatoes, globe zucchini, basil, celery, cherry tomatoes, dill, basil, shallots a and a variety of lettuces

 

 

 

 

I will be taking photos each week to monitor the progress of the plants and this should give me knowledge to work out what I will replant again next year.

I’m looking forward to harvesting the homegrown produce over the coming Summer months …and eating the rewards of my labours of my balcony vegetable garden.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About BlandResistance

A crusader for the cause of all those who feel they are enslaved by a mundane and boring diet...food should be a celebration of flavours!

Leave a Reply

